Sunday, 1 November 2015

Take Nestlé off your suitable for vegetarians list

Thumbs down for Nestle in the UK.
If there's one thing worse than companies being too lazy to label products vegetarian or vegan (something that should be compulsory by law), its companies like Nestlé changing the ingredients in popular products without any notice.

but who wants to have to look up the latest list from every single company whenever they go shopping?

How can you trust these lists when the products that look to have only vegetarian ingredients (hey, we end up examining them with a magnifying glass) and that ARE LISTED AS VEGETARIAN on store websites have hidden animal ingredients?


In Nestlés case, it's their Black Magic chocolates and their After Eight Mints that are no longer vegetarian (After Eights were once vegan). 

A staple gift for many vegetarians at Christmas, an elderly friend of mine who's vegetarian, got a shock when she asked me to check if After Eight dinner mints were vegetarian and I discovered after a lot of research that After Eight Mints were both were no longer suitable for vegetarians.


Here's where it gets even more confusing. According to an ingredient list on some Black Magic chocolates are vegetarian. It doesn't say that on the box and they're not in the Nestle vegetarian list. 

Look at the ingredients on Black Magic and its difficult to tell what ingredients they contain that no longer make them vegetarian. And, there's more confusion. Strawberry ones are veggie, but not orange ones, apparently. None are vegan. 

Cue confused face, or Nestlé boycott.

According to their updated October, 2015 list, "After Eight Bitesize Dark Chocolate Mints" are vegetarian, but not a box of After Eights Mints. Wonder what genius came up with that? Doh!

TIP - Some of the big supermarkets like Morrison's, the Co-Op and Asda make their own brand after dinner mints that are vegan. They're cheaper than After Eight's and there's no hidden nasties in them.

Always check the label before you buy. If you're in the UK, look for Vegetarian Society Approved and Vegan Society logo. 

Here's the Nestle OCTOBER 2015 vegetarian list 

Here's their vegan list 

You can complain to Nestle on Twitter by clicking HERE
Twitter @Nestle_UK_IRE

Consumer Services careline free on 00800 6378 5385 or 0800 00 00 30.

Consumer Services, Nestlé UK Ltd, Haxby Road, York, YO91 1XY.

In Conclusion - Me, I wouldn't touch Nestlé and their products with a ten foot pole for treating vegetarians and vegans and other shoppers with utter contempt and because of the Nestlé boycott (see below).

And that's how veggiegirl2011 sees it.

TIP - Also, watch out for After Eight Delicious Dark Chocolate and Mint Flavoured Desserts 4 x 70g they contain beef gelatine. Who wants ground down animal bone and muscle straight from the slaughterhouse floor in their dessert? 

The Nestle boycott

Nestlé is the target of a boycott because it contributes to the unnecessary death and suffering of infants around the world by aggressively marketing baby foods in breach of international marketing standards.

No comments:

Post a Comment