Wednesday, 5 August 2015

8 Surprising things that are NOT vegetarian

Being veggie can be a minefield. Things that at first glance seem to be vegetarian, can in fact contain hidden nasties that are definitely NOT suitable for vegetarians.

1. Roast potatoes. You would think you’d be safe with the humble potato, but no. If people don’t have enough animal fat in their diets as it is, companies have taken to adding goose and duck fat to potatoes.

2. Cheese and Onion crisps/potato chips. 
They keep on messing with the ingredients in these so that animal rennet (taken from the stomachs of slaughtered baby calves) is often used. Walkers crisps in the UK kept doing this.

You also need to avoid their meaty flavours you need to avoid as some of them like the smokey bacon and roast chicken contain REAL meat. Yuck! 

3. Guinness & some other alcoholic beverages such as wine and lager. 
They may not contain animal by products, but they are filtered through isinglass, which is taken from the swim bladders of fish. There is no way to ensure none of this enters the product.

4. Chips or French fries. It all comes down to whether they are fried in animal or vegetable fat. The same also applies to other fried foods like fritters.

5. Worcester Sauce usually contains anchovies (small fish). 
There are veggie versions like Free From.

6. Parmesan Cheese tends to contain animal rennet, which comes from slaughtered calves stomachs, though increasingly its been replaced by cheaper and cruelty free non-animal versions. The same goes for many other cheeses. Always check the label.

7. Pesto is also made with animal rennet.  
This is because it contains Parmesan (see above). Pesto is often put in so called vegetarian dishes by restaurants. See this article. 

8. Low fat yogurts such as Müller Light yogurts. You might not expect it, but they have gelatine (gelatin) in them. Unlike other vegetarian, but not vegan friendly yogurts, that use pectin, which comes mainly from citrus fruits.

1 comment:

  1. There are a lot of hidden nasties even for non vegetarians. We should all read the ingredient list before buying.