Wednesday 31 March 2021

#vegan friendly Rowntree's fruit pastilles

Today, I'm trying Rowntree's #vegan friendly fruit pastilles #sweets #candies. 

I grew up with these sweets and last ate them a whopping 35 years ago but I still vaguely remember what they tasted like. 

First impressions - from the packaging these Rowntree fruit pastilles look like the original version that contains yucky gelatine (or spelled gelatin) until you see the VEGAN FRIENDLY on the packaging. 

Great, yet another old favourite suitable for vegans. What's not to like?

But, how good are they? 

The appearance - they look almost exactly the same as the originals except maybe a bit flatter. 

They taste test - Nice and fruity. 
The sweet taste lasts and lasts. 
The pastilles are very chewy. 

Verdict: Very tasty and fruity. I would highly recommend them. 

Wednesday 22 July 2020

Impossible Foods Impossible Whopper is NOT vegetarian or vegan

There's no doubt that plant-based living has never been more popular. Every day you read of another company coming up with you what appears to be vegan products. 
But on closer inspection, you realise you might be getting my misled. Big time. 

All these companies want is your money. The haven't suddenly decided they want to stop animal cruelty and murder.

One such brand is Impossible Burger who make the Impossible Whopper. Some people would say that's an appropriate name given that vegans and vegetarians feel misled by how it's been marketed.

Billed as a "patty made from plants" and sold at Burger King, what they don't tell you is this. And this is a statement coming from Impossible Foods themselves after a class action taken by vegetarians and vegans saying they had been misled over the 
Impossible Burger-

Impossible Foods Inc, which helped create the Impossible Whopper, has said it was designed for meat eaters who want to consume less animal protein, not for vegans or vegetarians.

Impossible Foods burgers and not even vegetarian 

But does that make impossible burgers suitable for vegetarians or vegans? 

It's a resounding no on both points.

You see, The Impossible Burger which is made from soy my favourite type of vegan burger, is cooked with meat products. Yep, whilst your local friendly takeaway place with a cooking area a fraction of the size of any Burger King can put aside a meat free cooking space, Burger King either can't or won't.

Want to read more about this? Click on this link here

Remember folks, saying something is plant-based does not mean it's suitable for vegetarians far this vegans. Impossible burger is one such case in point. 

Always ask where something is cooked and what it's cooked with. 

If it was up to me, the Impossible Whopper would have to list animal fat in it's ingredients because it's cooked in the same oil as meat and that should mean losing the 0% beef label and having a label on the product and on the menu saying it's not suitable for vegetarians and vegans.

And that's how Veggiegirl2011 sees it.